DDH Decorating Ideas


DDH Mother’s Day Contest Finalists – VOTE NOW! by decordreamhome
May 5, 2010, 11:36 am
Filed under: Contest, Interior Design

OK, so we know this was a quick contest to pull together and we didn’t get the submissions we were hoping for but I think you’ll agree that all of these contenders are worthy of the Grand Prize – but it’s you who gets to vote for who will win the Grand Prize – $500 DecorDreamHome.com Gift Certificate and design consultation!

Our first Finalist is Stephanie. This is what her daughter wrote about her mom:

My mom deserves a bedroom makeover that lets her wake up each morning with a fresh start to her day and a comforting space to relax in. Both my parents, especially my mom, have fought through what life has thrown at us. Our family has been through a lot of up and downs and she keeps looking towards the future. She is extremely supportive and giving. When I moved out into the world on my own she gave a lot that she had to me, so that I could live comfortably. She has always extended her hand to others never taking care of herself first. I believe if you can sleep and wake up in a comfortable space it sets the tone for the rest of your day, and will give my mom the energy to keep striving and hoping for the best. Everything that my mom has been through, I try to be there for her every day. I always feel the burden of what they are going through and feel like there is nothing I can do to ease the pain. I wish I could take all the weight off her shoulders, and take care of her for once, as she took such good care of me. So if this can be even just a little way to help I am certainly going to try. My mom deserves to know how much her children appreciate everything she has done for us, and how much we love her. Thank you.

Here is Stephanie’s bedroom:


ddh mother's Day contest 1

DDH Mother's Day Contest 2
DDH Mother's Day Contest 3

Our next contestant is Hazel:

I’d like to nominate… MYSELF! We recently moved into our DREAM home out in the country. We love it here but it is a really old house in need of a lot of work. The needs come before the wants at the moment.
With all the stress of running my own business and trying to make the house livable, I would love to retreat to a cozy spot at the end of the day! Thanks so much for offering such a wonderful gift! Good Luck to all the entries! Sincerely, Hazel

Editor’s Note: Had to share this wonderful comment someone wrote about Hazel:

Dear Voters~ I just want to share why i voted for Hazel. I know her, and she is a nice woman. She works like a dog from home and rarely has time for herself let alone her house. She has young kids too and is often focused on them as well. A few months back, she gave me some side work through her business which helped me out. Most; recently, my own property flooded in Richmond, KY and Hazel came to our rescue and offered to watch my little boys while we cleaned up mud. I would have not gotten as much done as fast without help like that from a real caring friend.

About her house: well, this place is an old beauty. It deserved to be loved by a new owner like Hazel. The last person in it really ran it down and damaged it. Hazel fits in there perfectly with her eclectic visions.

I hope she wins to create the space she needs, because she is well deserving, and I would be more than happy to go there to help her pull it all together.

Good Luck Hazel

I'd like to nominate... MYSELF! We recently moved into our DREAM home out in the country. We love it here but it is a really old house in need of a lot of work. The needs come before the wants at the moment.  With all the stress of running my own business and trying to make the house livable, I would love to retreat to a cozy spot at the end of the day! Thanks so much for offering such a wonderful gift! Good Luck to all the entries! Sincerely, Hazel
DDH Mother's Day Contest 5
Finally, we have Deb:

I am a married mother of 2 beautiful, busy children, 1 dog, and 3 cats and while I am grateful for all I have, I would love to have a room that is a retreat to come home to.  As you can see from the pictures, my room is A MESS!  I NEED help!!  I’m not one to ask for help but after viewing your website and seeing such beautiful, inviting rooms, I’d be foolish to miss out on such a contest.  So please pick me, I’d be so grateful!!


OK, so use this poll below to vote – you have until Friday at 2pm EST to vote!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

